Great books available here in the Library

Even though I work in the library, I’m still amazed and pleased at the variety of books that are available especially new ones. My recommendation for everyone is that if you want to read books, popular modern fiction, that have been recently been published, then borrow them from the library.

The best way to do it is to reserve them and then they can be sent from different branches as well. I often watch out to see what has come in and usually been already reserved by someone, but then I reserve it and just wait for my turn. I buy quite a lot of books especially second hand but for new, hardback fiction, I will try and get them from the library.

The other great thing about working in the library is that you get to see the books that people return or ones that get sent from other branches or the ones that you’re shelving or general browsing – it is difficult to resist and I always end up going home with one (although now doing a one in one out to avoid too many). Sometimes it also means that I read books that I wouldn’t necessarily choose but I can read a bit of it and if i don’t like it, put it back on the shelf.

Leave a comment